Support system 

Last week, I was at a work conference for three days…. And it rained. Every. Single. Day. By day three, the last day, I was done, physically and mentally done. 

It’s so easy to baby yourself when you’re feeling bad. I’m more stubborn than the average bull, but even I have days where I tell myself “it’s only the last day, it’s even a half day…. It’s been raining three days straight…. I’ve been super active all the other days, I deserve this…. My body needs this…. I’m just gonna stay in bed…”

Fortunately, a friend at the conference reached out when she noticed I wasn’t there. She texted and called, very concerned, and (an hour later) I replied that I was feeling a little rough this morning but I’d be on my way soon. Ironically, her extremely understanding “oh no, that’s fine- take your time.” was the final straw I needed, and my pride got me out of bed and functioning. If it wasn’t for her, I would have missed the last day instead of being just an hour late. 

Don’t underestimate the value of a support system, by which I mean… It’s very easy to tell little white lies, to make up stories to cover weaknesses, and to shrug off concern. And I’m all for that, generally speaking, but for people in the know, who you trust to handle it right (which varies), be open and honest even with the little things. It helps. 

The next day, when I got home, I slept for ten hours, then took a five hour nap, then slept for another nine hours the next night…. This rain sucks.

Leave a Reply

amicrobialworld

- How much do you know?

at the Heart of Privacy™

K Royal (@heartofprivacy)

Controller Issues

Gamer Dads Who Need an Outlet

