Your Mattress

I’ve been sleeping on my couch’s pull-out bed for a few days now, and I have never woken up so easily and quickly in the mornings. I wake up before my alarm totally refreshed, alert, and ready to go. It’s insanely weird- I am NOT a morning person, partly because that’s just how I’m wired and partly because of debilitating morning joint pain. But this crummy, awful, cheap, inflexible mattress has been the best thing ever. I don’t know why, maybe the… stuff… I don’t know. But it got me thinking:

You spend an average of maybe 8 hours a night (so like anywhere from 4-12…. it varies) sleeping. So about a third of your life, right? To the average, not-disabled person, mattresses are important. To the person with chronic joint pain/pain of whatever flavor, mattresses are IMPORTANT. A simple change in your mattress can make a huge difference in your life!

And don’t just assume you need some spacey, soft thing- firm mattresses are good for you. I’ve been lusting after a tempurpedic for years, but I swear to you that I’ve gotten the best morning of my life after sleeping on this pull-out bed.

If you’re having chronic trouble getting out of bed in the morning, consider changing your mattress, and don’t get snowed by a salesman- try different things, and most places let you return it after thirty days if it’s not working for you.

One thought on “Your Mattress

  1. K Royal @HeartofPrivacy December 20, 2015 at 7:20 pm Reply

    so….the mattress that does not work for you is the expensive one we bought? hmmm. I agree, perhaps trying different things works better than assuming that something touted to be better for someone is actually better for someone. Bigger question, for the mom in me…why are you sleeping on your own couch? LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

amicrobialworld

- How much do you know?

at the Heart of Privacy™

K Royal (@heartofprivacy)

Controller Issues

Gamer Dads Who Need an Outlet

